Ladies win a historic treble

Pleasington Ladies section are celebrating after achieving a historic treble of Lancashire Matchplay trophies.

Lancashire Ladies County Golf Associaltion (LLCGA) run "Shields Matches" throughout the year for Scratch (no handicap involved), Handicap (10 - 24 handicap, shots given) and Bronze (21 - 36 handicap, shots given) and for the first time ever Pleasington have won all three trophies.

The teams all start with mini-leagues and play each team home and away. The team that tops the group progresses to the East divisional semi-finals & finals and then onto the County semi-finals and finals.

There are fewer teams in the county who offer a Scratch team (22 this year) so the winner of each group progresses straght to the county finals - this year held at West Lancashire GC.
The Scratch team came through a very tough qualifying group, comprising Royal Birkdale, Formby Ladies, West Lancashire, Ashton & Lea & Childwall winning 7 matches, halving 1 and losing 2. In the semi-finals the team of Catherine Roberts, Susan Caton, Alex Forrest, Jeanette Williams & Louise Blahuta beat Ormskirk GC and then went on to defeat Manchester GC in the final to retain the trophy we won last year.

The Handicap team were drawn in a group with Stand, Rossendale, Blackburn, Colne & Bury and won 8 of their 10 matches, losing 1 and halving 1.
The divisional finals were held at Lytham Green Drive where we beat Nelson in the morning followed by a victory against Breightmet in the afternoon.
The county finals were held at Fairhaven GC and the team of Kim Roberts, Penny Prest, Tracey Mendham, Christine Herbert & Anne Cross were victorious against Hurlston Hall in the morning and Ashton-under-Lyne in the afternoon.
We last won this trophy in 2011 and this year 96 teams entered the competition.

The Bronze shield was only introduced in 2004 and 79 teams entered this year.
We topped our group of Stonyhurst, Rossendale, Whalley & Nelson with 7 wins and only 1 defeat.
In the divisional finals we beat Towneley in the semi-final and then Turton in the final to reach the county finals held at Whalley GC over two seperate days.
Again we were drawn against Hurlston Hall in the semi-final and having beaten them returned to Whalley two weeks later with a slightly different team (due to holiday commitments). The team of Elspeth Yates, Jacqui Banister, Hilda Wrigley, Pam Chamberlain & Mubina Ladha beat a strong Hindley Hall to win this trophy for the very first time.

No club has ever won the Scratch, Handicap & Bronze shield in the same year and our congratulations go to all the players from all the teams, the team captains (Jeanette Williams, Janet Stevens & Judith Isherwood), the caddies and all the supporters who came to the various and numerous venues just to cheer the teams on.

Pictured below are the three victorious teams :

LLCGA Scratch Shield Winners 17

LLCGA Handicap Trophy winners 2017a copy

Bronze Shield Winners